GetYourGuide sells 24 street go-kart tours in Tokyo across five zones, plus one track day. A typical hour cost ¥9,000–¥18,500 per person on 15 October; the lowest “from” is ¥7,000, and a night slot can cost up to ¥14,000 more than the morning one on the same route. We compare them all and send you to GetYourGuide to book.
License + 1949 IDP booklet required · 18+ on the streets (17+ on one listing) · what to bring
GetYourGuide sells 25 go-kart tours in Tokyo: 24 on the street in five zones and one track day outside the city. For a first drive, book the Street Kart hour in Shibuya (★4.9, 1,904 reviews, ¥18,500 on 15 October 2026). Street drivers must be 18+ (17+ on one listing) and bring a license, passport and 1949 IDP booklet.
Why this one: it starts in a semi-underground garage with a neon logo and mirrored walls, and it had ten start times on our check date. Costume, guide photos, goggles and a raincoat are in the price. The listing promises 1 hour of driving; the catch is the strict document check at the counter.
from, per person¥16,500On 15 Oct: ¥18,500Check datesCostume, photos and raincoat included
At the counter: license + 1949 IDP booklet + passport, all originals · check yours
Or pick by how you want to spend the hour
Cheapest hour with reviews
Two hours, one bridge
Old town
Our pick, and four reasons to pick another
Best Tokyo Go Kart — The One Tour to Book First
The best first booking is Tokyo: Street Kart Experience in Shibuya — ★4.9 from 1,904 reviews, the most-reviewed kart listing in the city. It is listed from ¥16,500; the real checkout price for one adult on 15 October 2026 was ¥18,500 (≈$118), with ten start times on that date and free cancellation up to 7 days before.
The hour starts in a semi-underground garage in Shibuya. The listing says you cross the Scramble Crossing several times from different directions before heading to Harajuku and Omotesando; one reviewer, Micheal (August 2026), counted four passes. A costume, guide photos, goggles and a raincoat for wet days are in the price. An action camera is an optional extra, and Furkan (September 2026) reports paying ¥1,000 per person for insurance.1
Book something else if…Price comes first — the Shibuya and Shinjuku hour cost ¥9,000 on 15 October (★4.6, 604 reviews).You want a longer drive — the Tokyo Bay flagship runs 2 hours over Rainbow Bridge for ¥16,500.You want a calmer route — Asakusa, the Skytree and Akihabara in 70 minutes (★4.7, 783 reviews).You want to choose the length — Shibuya Kart sells 45, 60 or 90 minutes for ¥10,000–¥18,000.Someone is under 18 — only the track outside Tokyo takes drivers, from age 6.
The full review covers the meeting point, what reviewers praise and what they wish were longer.
Three questions narrow Tokyo karting from 25 listings to two or three: what you want to see, how long you want to drive, and whether your documents work. Price follows from the first two answers. The documents decide whether you drive at all, because every street operator checks them before handing over a kart.
Decide in this order
1Where — Shibuya has 12 of the 25 tours; Tokyo Bay and Tokyo Tower have 4 each; Asakusa and Akihabara have 2 each.
2How long — most street tours last 1 hour; the longest street route runs 2–3 hours, and one electric tour sells 30 minutes.
3When — some routes run at sunset or night, and two Tokyo Tower listings charged ¥26,000 for their night start on 15 October.
4Documents — home license, passport and a 1949 IDP booklet, all originals, or a JAF translation for six countries.
Only one listing states the minutes at the wheel: Street Kart Shibuya promises 1 hour of driving. Elsewhere, treat the listed length as the whole visit. The listed length includes check-in, the costume and a briefing. On the Shibuya Annex tour, reviewer Merel (April 2025) wrote that her group was back at the office after 45–50 minutes of a tour sold as one hour.
Not sure your permit is the right kind? Check it before you compare prices.
“Amazing! It was so much fun and my guide was very informative and friendly. He even gave me two keychains as I left!”
from GetYourGuide
Reviews come from GetYourGuide · counts 29 Sep 2026
From the counter to the last photo
Tokyo Go Kart Experience: What the Hour Actually Looks Like
1 hour tour, from counter to last photoOperators don’t split the minutes
1Counter checkLicense, passport and 1949 IDP booklet — originals, checked before anything else.minutes not stated
2CostumePick a onesie from the shop’s rack; goggles and a raincoat if it’s wet.minutes not stated
3BriefingHow the kart works, hand signals, the convoy rules. Phones go away.minutes not stated
4At the wheelBehind the guide in a convoy on public roads.minutes not stated
5Photo stopsThe guide shoots at the landmarks and sends the photos after.minutes not stated
6ReturnBack to the garage, costume off, last group photo.minutes not stated
Day, wide street with trees, group of red karts, drivers in yellow/blue onesies waving to cameraNight, red karts with rear cargo boxes lined up under neon signs, drivers seen from behindNight, woman in blue-green onesie and man in red at the wheel, neon Shibuya street, motion
Rain and cancellationHeavy rain cancels tours. Several shops include a raincoat; cancellation is free up to 7 days or 24 hours before, except one non-refundable Akihabara tour.
InsuranceSome listings include it, others sell it as an option; two shops list a ¥50,000 charge after an accident. Read the listing’s “know before you go”.
HelmetThe street listings don’t list helmets; two Street Kart listings include goggles and one Tokyo Tower shop lists eyewear.
Costumes after NintendoShops stock their own onesies and character suits; no Nintendo costumes since the 2018 ruling.
PhoneNot in your hand while driving — you can be pulled out of the convoy.
Height and weightLimits differ by shop: one refuses under 145 cm or over 100 kg, another over 180 cm or 150 kg, the track over 95 kg.
Same route, different city — and a different price
Tokyo Karting: Day, Sunset or Night
DayStreets in color, crowds on the crossing, shopfronts.¥16,000Tower–Shibuya route, day option
SunsetThe sky goes blue and the screens take over. Street Kart Shibuya sold every start at one price on our check date.¥18,500Street Kart Shibuya, any start on 15 Oct
NightNeon, lit screens, headlights — the photos in the listings.¥26,000Tower–Shibuya route, the one night start
Source: GetYourGuide checkout, options for 15 Oct 2026, read 29 Sep 2026
Nintendo sued the company that started street karting in Tokyo in 2017 and won ¥50 million on appeal in 2020. After the ruling no tour uses Nintendo’s names or costumes, and the original company now runs as Street Kart. The costumes are the shops’ own onesies and character suits, not Nintendo’s.
Sep 2018Tokyo District Court: ¥10 million and a ban on Nintendo costumes.
Jan 2020Intellectual Property High Court: ¥50 million and a ban on the “MariCar” name.
25 Dec 2020Supreme Court dismisses the final appeal. The company operates as Street Kart.
The answer is the first sentence
Tokyo Go Kart FAQ
A street kart tour is a guided go-kart tour on public roads: you drive your own kart in a convoy behind a guide, usually for about an hour. Street Kart is also the trade name of the original operator, which lost Nintendo's lawsuit under the MariCar name and now operates as Street Kart. It runs four of the 25 listings we compare — Shibuya, Shibuya Annex, Akihabara and Tokyo Bay.
Tokyo: Street Kart Experience in Shibuya is the best all-round pick — ★4.9 from 1,904 reviews, ten start times on 15 October 2026 and a costume, guide photos, goggles and raincoat in the price. It cost ¥18,500 that day. If price matters more, the Shibuya and Shinjuku hour was ¥9,000 (★4.6, 604 reviews); for a drive over the water, the 2-hour Tokyo Bay flagship was ¥16,500.
A tour runs in about six steps: document check at the counter, costume, a briefing on the kart and hand signals, the drive in a convoy behind the guide, photo stops, and the return to the shop. Several listings ask you to arrive 20 minutes early, and the two electric-kart tours ask for 30. Phones stay away while you drive, and guides take the photos for you.
Yes, tourists can drive if they bring three originals: their home license, their passport and an International Driving Permit in the 1949 Geneva Convention booklet format. Licenses from Switzerland, Germany, France, Belgium, Monaco and Taiwan need a JAF Japanese translation instead of an IDP. The Street Kart listings add that licenses from countries outside the 1949 convention, such as China, Indonesia, Mexico, Qatar and Saudi Arabia, can't be used in Japan at all.
For most travelers with the right documents, yes: the most-reviewed listing holds ★4.9 across 1,904 reviews, and a one-hour tour with reviews cost ¥9,000–¥18,500 on 15 October 2026. It is not worth booking without a 1949 IDP booklet, because operators refuse the drive and keep the money. Expect a guided convoy, not a race — reviewers mention traffic that kept speeds down and tight formation that takes concentration.
Yes, every street tour needs an International Driving Permit issued under the 1949 Geneva Convention, in paper booklet form, unless your license is from one of the six JAF-translation countries. Permits under the 1968 Vienna Convention are not accepted in Japan, and operators refuse card-type, digital and photocopied permits. Only the country that issued your license can issue the IDP, so it can't be obtained online once you are traveling.
Not on the street — every street tour asks for a driving license. The one listing that needs no license is the kart racing day at New Tokyo Circuit in Ichihara, Chiba, about 60 minutes from central Tokyo, with a helmet, suit and gloves provided. On 15 October 2026 the adult kart cost ¥26,400 per group of up to three, and the junior kart for ages 6–12 cost ¥40,000.
A one-hour street tour cost ¥7,000–¥18,500 per person at checkout for 15 October 2026. The ¥7,000 listing is new, has no reviews and advertises an opening discount; the cheapest hour with reviews was ¥9,000 (≈$57). The 2-hour Tokyo Bay flagship cost ¥16,500. On 6 of the 24 street listings the real price was above the advertised “from”.
No — street tours are for drivers aged 18 and over (one Shinjuku listing says 17+), and none of the listings we checked sells a passenger seat, so a parent can't take a child along. The only option for children is the racing circuit in Chiba: its junior kart takes ages 6–12 with a minimum height of 120 cm and cost ¥40,000 on 15 October 2026. Teens from 13 can book the adult kart at the same circuit.
Light rain usually doesn't stop a tour; heavy rain does, and the operator makes the call. Street Kart’s Shibuya and Tokyo Bay listings include a raincoat for rainy days, and one electric-kart shop says its tours generally run even in the rain. Several listings, including both Akiba Kart shops, Shibuya and Shinjuku Streets and East Tokyo, promise a free reschedule or refund if weather cancels the tour. Read your listing's rule before you book.
Street Kart’s Shibuya and Tokyo Bay listings supply goggles, and one Tokyo Tower shop lists eyewear; the street listings we compared don't list helmets. Shoes matter more than you might expect: slippers, sandals and high heels are refused on several tours, so wear closed-toe shoes. Phones are not allowed in your hand while driving. Two listings from one operator describe speeds up to 60 km/h.
Only Street Kart Shibuya states it: 1 hour of driving. Other listings give just the total length, which can include check-in and a briefing. A one-hour tour includes the document check, costume and briefing. One Shibuya Annex reviewer, Merel (April 2025), says her group was back after 45–50 minutes. The Shinjuku-to-Shibuya listing gives an itinerary with 5 minutes past Harajuku, 15 at the Scramble Crossing and 10 along Omotesando.