Karts on an elevated expressway/bridge, Tokyo Bay skyline
The crossing or the bridge

Shibuya vs Tokyo Bay Go Kart

Check dates for the tour we recommend
SHORT ANSWER

Pick Shibuya for a first hour: 12 tours, the Scramble Crossing and the cheapest reviewed hour at ¥9,000. Pick Tokyo Bay for a longer drive by the water: 2 to 2.5 hours from ¥16,000, and the only listing that crosses Rainbow Bridge (★4.8, 113 reviews).

Updated 29 Sep 2026 · Prices checked 29 Sep 2026 · See prices on GetYourGuide →

  • 12 vs 4tours in Shibuya vs Tokyo Bay
  • ¥6,400per listed hour, 2.5-hour bay option
  • 7 daysfree cancellation on the bridge route
  • 10 of 12Shibuya listings name the Scramble Crossing
Criteria in rows, one button each side

Shibuya vs Tokyo Bay, Side by Side

Shibuya渋谷Tokyo Bay東京湾
What you seeScramble Crossing, neon screens, Omotesando, HarajukuRainbow Bridge, the bay, glass towers
Minutes at the wheel1 hour on Street Kart Shibuya; not stated elsewhereNot stated on any of the 4 bay listings
DurationMost tours 1 hourFlagship 2 hours
Price from¥7,000 (no reviews) · ¥9,000 with reviews¥10,000
Tours124
Night slotNo night surcharge on the 12 Shibuya listings; ¥26,000 after dark on two Tokyo Tower routes that include the crossingNight drives reported on the East Tokyo tour; no separate night price
Where it startsShops near Shibuya Station; others start in Togoshi or ShinjukuThe flagship starts at the Street Kart Tokyo Bay warehouse
For whomFirst time, one hour, the crossingYou want two hours and the bridge
Check datesOur pick: Street Kart Experience in ShibuyaCheck datesOur pick: Flagship 2-hour tour

Source: GetYourGuide snapshot · 29 Sep 2026

Two zones, two different drives

Shibuya vs Tokyo Bay Go Kart — The Verdict in Numbers

Shibuya wins on choice and price; Tokyo Bay wins on length and the bridge. Shibuya has 12 of the 25 go-kart listings on GetYourGuide, most of them one-hour loops around the Scramble Crossing, Harajuku and Omotesando. Tokyo Bay has 4, and only one of them, the Street Kart Flagship 2-hour tour, advertises driving across Rainbow Bridge.

Choice12 Shibuya listings against 4 in Tokyo Bay. On 15 October Street Kart Shibuya alone showed 10 start times; the bay flagship showed 2.
Lowest price¥9,000 for an hour with reviews in Shibuya. In the bay zone, ¥16,000 is the lowest price for an option that actually drives the waterfront.
LengthMost Shibuya tours run 1 hour. The bay flagship runs 2 hours; the East Tokyo “Tokyo Bay and Ginza” option runs 2.5.
LandmarkShibuya: the Scramble Crossing, crossed several times from different directions on the Street Kart route. Bay: Rainbow Bridge and Tokyo Tower.

Only Street Kart Shibuya states its minutes at the wheel: “1 hour of driving”. The one hint comes from reviews: a flagship reviewer (Wendy, April 2026) calls it the tour to book “if you want to maximize driving time”, with “several stretches where we could drive without interruption”.1

Five zones, one question — what do you want to see

Which Tokyo Go Kart Route Is Best

The best Tokyo go kart route is the one that passes the landmark you came for, because every street tour asks for the same documents and drives at city-traffic pace behind a guide. Tokyo has five kart zones on GetYourGuide. Here is what each one is for, with the lowest “from” price on the listings checked on 29 September 2026.

Shibuya — 12 toursThe Scramble Crossing, Harajuku and Omotesando; some routes add Shinjuku. From ¥7,000 on a new listing, ¥9,000 with reviews.
Tokyo Bay — 4 toursRainbow Bridge on one listing only; others add Ginza, Tsukiji, Toyosu or Kabuki-za. From ¥10,000 in Ginza, ¥16,000 for the bay itself.
Tokyo Tower — 4 toursThe tower close up, Roppongi and often the crossing. From ¥10,800; two listings sell a night slot at ¥26,000.
Asakusa — 2 toursHistoric Asakusa, the Skytree and Akihabara. From ¥13,200; ¥14,000 on 15 October.
Akihabara — 2 toursAnime billboards, then Tokyo Station, Marunouchi and Ginza on the Street Kart route. From ¥11,500.

For a first drive, Shibuya is the default. Choose another zone for a specific reason — the bridge, the tower lit at night, or the old town.

All 25 listings, zone by zone, with the real 15 October prices side by side.

Compare all 25
Only one of them crosses the bridge

What the Four Tokyo Bay Tours Actually Cover

Only one of the four Tokyo Bay listings advertises driving across Rainbow Bridge: the Street Kart Flagship 2-hour tour, ★4.8 from 113 reviews, from ¥16,500 (≈$105), which was also the real price on 15 October. Its route runs from a warehouse on the bay across Rainbow Bridge and on to Tokyo Tower, with a raincoat included and free cancellation up to 7 days before.

The other three are different drives. East Tokyo Go-Kart Tour (★4.7, 391 reviews) promises a view of Rainbow Bridge, not a crossing. The Ginza tour (★5.0, 67 reviews, ¥10,000, 1 hour) passes Tokyo Tower, Kabuki-za and the Imperial Palace. The 90-minute Scenic Skyline tour (★4.9, 14 reviews, ¥18,000) passes Toyosu, the Ariake Coliseum and Ginza.

Before you book a bay tourEast Tokyo sells two routes on one listing: the ¥10,000 option is Akihabara and the Skytree (1.5 hours), not the bay.For the bay, pick East Tokyo’s Tokyo Bay and Ginza option: 2.5 hours for ¥16,000; hotel pickup is not included.The Scenic Skyline tour asks you to arrive 40 minutes early for check-in and the safety briefing.The flagship showed 2 start times and 2 spots left on 15 October — it fills early.
A group in striped onesies in red karts, arms up, on the road. Photo from the operator's GetYourGuide listing.
A group in striped onesies in red karts, arms up, on the road. Photo from the operator's GetYourGuide listing.
Most-reviewed, cheapest, longest

Shibuya — Which of the 12 to Shortlist

Three Shibuya tours cover most first-time needs. Street Kart Experience in Shibuya is the most-reviewed kart tour in Tokyo, ★4.9 from 1,904 reviews. It is listed from ¥16,500 and cost ¥18,500 (≈$118) on 15 October, with 10 start times that day and free cancellation up to 7 days before. The route crosses the Scramble Crossing several times, then heads to Harajuku and Omotesando.

1,904reviewsThe most-reviewed kart tour in Tokyo starts in Shibuya, rated ★4.9.

The price pick is Shibuya and Shinjuku Streets at ¥9,000 (≈$57), ★4.6 from 604 reviews, the cheapest hour with reviews. That price had one spot left on our check date; the next option cost ¥13,500. For distance inside the zone, Official Japan Go-Kart Through Shibuya / Shinjuku runs 2–3 hours for ¥21,000 and adds Tokyo Tower and the Imperial Palace; its options did not load on our check dates, so confirm the length in the calendar.

All 12 Shibuya tours with routes, limits and real prices; check your documents first.

See Shibuya tours
The crossing or the bridge

What You See

Shibuya is the Scramble Crossing, the screens above it and the side streets of Omotesando and Harajuku. Tokyo Bay has the only route that advertises driving across Rainbow Bridge, with the water and the glass towers around the bay.

One hour or two

Time and Price

Most Shibuya tours last an hour, from ¥7,000 (no reviews yet) or ¥9,000 with reviews. The Tokyo Bay flagship lasts two hours for ¥16,500. Only Street Kart Shibuya states its driving time: one hour.

Check the date for the one most people book

Check Dates for Our Shibuya Pick

The answer is the first sentence

Shibuya vs Tokyo Bay FAQ

Shibuya is better for a first one-hour drive; Tokyo Bay is better for a longer drive and Rainbow Bridge. Shibuya has 12 listings, the most start times and the Scramble Crossing. Tokyo Bay has 4 listings, and only the Street Kart Flagship 2-hour tour (★4.8, 113 reviews, ¥16,500) advertises driving across the bridge. With time for one tour and no strong preference, start with Shibuya.

Shibuya is cheaper per tour: ¥9,000 buys an hour with reviews, and a new listing starts at ¥7,000. The lowest Tokyo Bay “from” is ¥10,000, but that buys a Ginza hour or an Akihabara route, not the bay. The cheapest option that actually drives the bay cost ¥16,000 on 15 October, for 2.5 hours — the lower price per listed hour.

Tokyo Bay tours run longer than a typical Shibuya hour: the flagship lasts 2 hours and East Tokyo’s Tokyo Bay and Ginza option 2.5 hours, while most Shibuya tours last 1 hour. The Shibuya exception is Official Japan Go-Kart Through Shibuya / Shinjuku, listed at 2–3 hours for ¥21,000. Only Street Kart Shibuya states the minutes you drive: one hour.

No listing in our comparison combines Rainbow Bridge and the Scramble Crossing on one drive. The bay flagship crosses Rainbow Bridge, then drives to Tokyo Tower; the Tokyo Tower routes link the tower with the crossing, from ¥12,000 for a 90-minute morning slot. To see both, book a Shibuya hour and the bay flagship on different days.

No, every street tour in both zones checks the same three originals: your home driving license, your passport and a 1949 Geneva International Driving Permit booklet. Licenses from Switzerland, Germany, France, Belgium, Monaco or Taiwan need an official JAF translation instead of an IDP. The 1968 card-type permit is refused, and a driver without valid documents does not drive and, on most listings, is not refunded. Street tours in both zones are 18+.

Shibuya has more evidence of night drives: reviewers of six Shibuya-zone tours describe driving after dark, including a 7:30 pm start on Street Kart Shibuya in September 2026. On the bay side, a flagship reviewer describes the Tokyo skyline from Rainbow Bridge on a late-autumn evening, and East Tokyo reviewers drove at night. Neither zone sells a separately priced night option; the listings with a night price are on the Tokyo Tower routes, at ¥26,000.

Yes. Among the 25 Tokyo listings, only the Street Kart Flagship 2-hour tour advertises driving on Rainbow Bridge; its listing calls it “the only go-kart course that goes on the Rainbow Bridge”. East Tokyo Go-Kart Tour invites you to marvel at the bridge, which is a view rather than a crossing. The flagship costs ¥16,500 (≈$105) for 2 hours.

Either zone works for a first-timer, because every tour runs as a convoy behind a guide. A self-described “initially nervous driver” on the bay flagship called it super fun (Sarah, November 2025), and another flagship reviewer praised the guide’s patience with an elderly couple (Lisette, May 2026). In Shibuya, one reviewer hoped to drive faster, but traffic did not allow it (Furkan, September 2026).

Check dates and prices on GetYourGuide →

We’d like to use analytics cookies to see which guides help. Nothing is set until you choose.